Tuesday, August 19, 2014

So First Day....Again?

So tomorrow I start law school, again.  I am somewhat nervous about this.  How different are people going to treat me this time?  How are the people who were in my class that are graduating going to treat me tomorrow?  I hated this first year with every ounce of my being.  I hate this idea of having to repeat these classes that I have already passed.

So it wasn't nearly as bad as I was anticipating.  Very few of the new class with the exception of a few of them know that I am repeating.  Obviously the person who was readmitted with me, another non traditional student that is in my new section and one who was assigned to interview me today in Legal Research and Writing.

First classes,  we started with Contracts.  This makes it official.  I will take this class with every professor that teaches it at this school.  I am doing something a little bit differently this time.  I am refusing to take my laptop with me to school.  I am handwriting all my notes.  I can already see a difference in my attention span. I am no longer looking for something else to take my attention when the class is boring.

Secondly, we went to Legal Traditions.  We are the only school that does this class.  It is horrid.  The only reason I did so well the last time was that I managed to study the exact old exam that my teacher gave that time.  It was boring.  It didn't help that my friend that was readmitted with me had history with the teacher.  It was plainly obvious when the guy called roll.

Then we went to Torts.  This is one of my favorite classes and I am thankful we don't have the teacher I had last time.  I get a different perspective on this class and I don't have to deal with the snark from the original professor.  This made it so much better.  I enjoyed this class so much that I can't even express it.

Last class was Criminal Law.  This should have been another favorite but I had been dreading it.  This was with the same professor that I had taken International Criminal Law with during the Spring Semester.  I had a very negative experience with this man.  He insulted my military job for three days straight.  He stated that all interrogators would waterboard their suspects without any care for the suspect.  It pissed me the hell off to the point that during one of the days I walked out of his class.  I was done.  I barely passed his class and I am sure it is because I called him out on his comments.  I told him that he was disrespectful and rude about something he had never done and would never do.  I had the balls to go and defend his country and how the hell did he think I managed to do that if someone didn't go and interrogate people to get information.

Then the second day, we had Legal Research and Writing.  I was lucky in that I got the same teacher I had the last time around who is one of my all time favorites.  She is a absolutely wonderful and caring woman. When she found out what had happened she was more worried about how I felt than the results.  She likens this class in law school to the class in medical school where the students get the cadaver to dissect.

Then it was back to Traditions.  Then we got to go to Basic Civil Procedure I.  This was with a woman I really respect.  She was my evidence teacher where I wasn't happy with her but in civil procedure she is a beast.  She is absolutely amazing.  In one of her quotes, "Another person might know bunches about Tort Law but you can still beat them if you can use civil procedure to keep them out of the courtroom."

1 comment:

  1. I am so proud of you!!! I love this blog and it will be wonderful to watch as you go thru this journey. Have a wonderful year and always know I am here to bounce things off of, yell when ya need it, and hold your hand when you need that boost! Hugs and Love lady...Hugs and Love!

    ReplyDelete