Wednesday, September 24, 2014

Harder than I though

So we did a portion of a memo in our Research and Writing Class.  We got it back last week and it has taken me this long to be willing to talk about it.  It was bad.  I busted ass on it and let's just say there was as much green ink on it that if it had been an alien I would have thought that it had been massacred.  Let's just say this was a big blow to my confidence.  I was floored.  I had worked on this, had proofread it and felt like she had just killed it.  I left that class and drove home in tears, literally. How can I do this if I can't even manage the analysis portion of an ungraded memo?  I have a conference with her later in the week to discuss it.  Hopefully it goes better than I anticipate it.  We also have a lunch with LexisNexis to help do the research for the memo.

My doctor's appointment went well.  My TSH is still very low, meaning I am not creating any thyroid hormone at all but the T4 is right where it needs to be so there was no need to change my dosages.  My potassium is actually higher than it was the last time I was in so that was cut down to once a day, thank goodness.   Those pills are HUGE!!!  Now if I could just shake this cold I seem to have come down with, everything would be great.  The docs want to give me steroids but that option is off the table for me now forever due to it landing me in the hospital last time.

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

September

So as the fall semester progresses, I realize just how hard this is going to be.  One of our professors had a death in the family so we missed an entire week of his class.  This puts us WAY behind in torts. That being said, I think we can manage.  However, my first time around, I had purchased a study aid called The First Year Law Set.  It is flash cards on the different classes that are required for your first year.  Well, when I first purchased it, I opened the civil procedure cards and read about 5 or 6 of them and was completely discouraged because I didn't get it.  I'm not sure if it is that I am doing things differently this time around or what, but I gave them another shot the other day and boy was I shocked.  I was able to answer over 100 of them without a whole lot of difficulty.  Granted I did get a few wrong but that is way better than last time.  To fill you in, Civil Procedure I was other than Contracts, which I failed, was my lowest grade.  So to be able to kick butt on these this time, made me feel like a million bucks.

However, I'm getting a bit afraid.  I have my first endocrinologist appointment since readmission next week.  I have to go have my blood drawn this week.  It concerns me due to some energy issues I have been having again.  I can't afford for this to drag me down again.  This is way too important.  Let me say it again, law school is tough.  It takes all I have to do this.  If I didn't have my family there is no way I could do this.